6th Annual Injury Biomechanics Symposium


The Ohio State University (Ohio State), in conjunction with Transportation Research Center Inc. (TRC Inc.), hosted the 6th Annual Injury Biomechanics Symposium from May 16 through May 18, 2010. The symposium is intended to stimulate and reward strong injury biomechanics research among students and recent graduates.

The symposium kicked off on Sunday with a golf scramble, followed by a welcome reception held at The Varsity Club on Ohio State’s campus. The symposium then moved to the Ohio State’s hotel, the Blackwell, for the research presentations and posters, and Monday’s events ended with a dinner banquet at the new student union’s Woody’s Tavern Restaurant. Additional presentations and posters were given on Tuesday morning and the event concluded with the annual Dr. Margaret A. Hines Awards.

The Dr. Margaret A. Hines award for best oral presentation was given to Claire Jonesof theUniversity of British Columbia, Vancouver Canada for her co-authored paper, “Cerebrospinal Fluid Pressures During Dynamic Contusion-Type Spinal Cord Injury in a Pig Model.” The Hines award for the best poster was presented to Aditya Belwadi of Wayne State University for his co-authored paper, “Conceptual Design Modification for Reducing Aortic Strain in a Left-Lateral Impact: A Design of Computer Experiments Study.”

Along with student representatives from around the world, the symposium was honored to have several outstanding guest speakers share their individual perspectives, experiences, and research, with the attendees. Guest speakers included: Dr. Gregory Washington, Interim Dean of the College of Engineering, at the Ohio State University;Dr. Jennifer A. Taylor, PhD, MPH, Assistant Professor in the Department of Environmental and Occupational Health at Drexel University’s School of Public Health; Dr. Douglas J. Gould, PhD of the Division of Anatomy at the Ohio State University; Dr. Anbesaw W. Selassie, MPH, DrPH, Director of Epidemiology in the Division of Biostatistics and Epidemiology at the Medical University of South Carolina; and Dr. Warren N. Hardy, PhD, the Virginia Tech Director of the Center for Injury Biomechanics and an Associate Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at Virginia Tech.

Symposium partners include TRC Inc., National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Nissan, Ford, Nationwide Children’s Hospital, Nationwide, Honda, and the Honda Partnership Program.

Abstracts for the 2011 symposium are due by January 31, 2011 and for more information visit: http://ibrl.osu.edu/.